Welcome to A2Z Homeschooling!

Homeschooling is more than just education at home. Homeschool parents, children, tutors, and anyone interested in learning online, a structured home classroom or unstructured unschooling will find A2Z Home's Cool an "cool" home school blog.

Not a member yet?

Creating a login will allow you to contribute to the site on a regular basis.
There are many ways to be part of the A2Z Home's Cool Community.
The possibilities are endless!

 Sign Up Today - Click here to register.

Member Login

Lost your password?
A2Z Homeschool - THE A-to-Z of Homeschooling
Animated Time4Learning Ad

United States Homeschooling Laws

Alabama Homeschooling Laws

Requirements for legally homeschooling in Alabama, from your Homeschooling Guide, Ann Zeise.
Read More »


Alaska Home School Laws

Alaska SB 134 adds an exemption to the Compulsory Education Law in statute allowing children to be homeschooled by a parent or guardian. No strings attached.
Read More »


Arizona Homeschooling Laws

Children who are between the ages of 6 and 16 years of age as of September 1. However, for children who have turned 6 before September 1st and who are under 8 years of age as of September 1, parents may notify the County School Superintendent (CSS) in writing that they don't wish to...
Read More »


Arkansas Home School Laws

Requirements for legally homeschooling in Arkansas. Compulsory attendance - Between 5 and 17 years of age on or before August 1 of that school year.
Read More »


California Home School Laws

California State homeschool law and requirements Requirements to homeschool in California. California Homeschooling Laws. 4 ways to homeschool legally within California homeschooling laws. Compulsory attendance – Between 6 and 18 years of age. Kindergarten in California California law requires a child to be six years old on or before September 1 for the 2017-18 school...
Read More »


Colorado Home School Laws

Colorado Education Code For Homeschooling This is not intended to be legal advice and is distributed for information purposes only. Check for updates at your public library and the links at the bottom of this page. Compulsory attendance – Between 7 and 16 years of age. What ages does the homeschool law apply to?...
Read More »


Connecticut Home School Laws

Connecticut State homeschool law and requirements Requirements to homeschool in Connecticut. Connecticut Homeschooling Laws. Ways to homeschool legally within Connecticut homeschooling laws. Compulsory attendance – five years of age and over and under seventeen years of age. Option to not enroll until age seven with notification. Parental Qualifications – None mandated Testing – Not mandated Section 10-184 Duties of Parents....
Read More »


Delaware Home School Laws

Delaware State homeschool law and requirements Requirements to homeschool in Delaware. Delaware Homeschooling Laws. Ways to homeschool legally within Delaware homeschooling laws. Compulsory attendance in Delaware – Between 5 and 16 years of age, from August 31. 5 year olds may be granted an exception. Parental Qualifications – None Summary of Methods – You...
Read More »


Florida Homeschooling Laws

Compulsory attendance - Between 6 and 16 years of age by February 1. Parental education requirement? - No State required subjects/courses - sequentially progressive educational activities Required number of hours per day per year - None
Read More »


Georgia Home School Laws

Compulsory attendance in Georgia - Between 6 and 16 years of age. You are no longer required to submit an attendance form to the Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE). Declarations of Intent (DOI) must still be submitted.
Read More »


Hawaii Home School Laws

State of Hawaii Homeschooling Laws, Information, and Forms Requirements to homeschool in Hawaii. Hawaii homeschooling laws. Ways to homeschool legally within Hawaii homeschooling laws. If you decide to homeschool in Hawaii, please familiarize yourself with the Hawai’i Board of Education’s procedures for Homeschooling. Hawaii DOE Homeschool Site The Department has a legitimate interest in...
Read More »


Idaho Home School Laws

The State of Idaho Department does not regulate or monitor home instruction. However, the following elements, identified as Idaho Code, need to be considered when planning for home school instruction.
Read More »


Illinois Home School Laws

Requirements for legally homeschooling in Illinois, from your Homeschooling Guide. Compulsory attendance - From 7 to 17 years of age. If contacted by state school officials, home schoolers could: submit a "statement of assurance" form to the local school district.
Read More »


Indiana Home School Laws

In Indiana all you need to do is start homeschooling. No forms to fill out. No accountability. Compulsory attendance - 7-18, with exceptions.
Read More »


Iowa Home School Laws

The parent, guardian, or legal custodian of a child of compulsory attendance age who places the child under private instruction shall provide, unless otherwise exempted, competent private instruction in accordance with this chapter.
Read More »


Kansas Home School Laws

Compulsory attendance - seven years of age and over and under eighteen years of age. 16 & 17 year olds may be exempt with written permission of parents. Parental Qualifications - the instructor shall be capable of performing competently the functions entrusted thereto. Testing - Not mandated
Read More »


Kentucky Homeschooling Laws

Kentucky homeschooling laws and requirements Requirements to homeschool in Kentucky. Kentucky homeschooling laws. Ways to homeschool legally within Kentucky homeschooling laws. 1. Education is a fundamental right. Rose V. Council for Better Education, Inc, KY., 790 S.W. 2d 186 (1989). Compulsory attendance laws require that every child between the ages of 6 and 16 be...
Read More »


Louisiana Home School Laws

Louisiana homeschool law and information Louisiana homeschooling laws and requirements to homeschool in Louisiana. Louisiana homeschooling laws. Ways to homeschool legally within Louisiana. Compulsory attendance – Between 7 and 18 years of age. Testing – You may optionally choose to submit to state testing under the home-study option. If you use the nonpublic school...
Read More »


Maine Home School Laws

Maine Homeschool Group

A child is excused from attending a public day school if the person responsible for ensuring the child’s attendance provides a written notice of intent to provide home instruction to the Commissioner of Education within 14 calendar days of the beginning of home instruction. This notice must contain a statement of assurance that the...
Read More »


Maryland Home School Laws

Requirements for legally homeschooling in Maryland. Education Code 7-301. Compulsory attendance.
Read More »


Michigan Homeschooling Laws

Requirements for legally homeschooling in Michigan, from your Homeschooling Guide. Parental Qualifications - (3)(a) Be a teacher or homeschool with one or claim religious exemption, or (3)(f) No requirements whatsoever!
Read More »


Minnesota Home School Laws

Minnesota Education Code For Homeschooling (Minnesota home school laws) Minnesota homeschooling laws and requirements to homeschool in Minnesota. Minnesota homeschooling laws. Ways to homeschool legally within Minnesota. This is not intended to be legal advice and is distributed for information purposes only. Check for updates to your Minnesota home school laws through the linked...
Read More »


Mississippi Certificate of Enrollment in a Homeschool

A Certificate of Enrollment shall be completed on each pupil in a non-public school who has attained the age of six years but has not attained the age of seventeen years on or before September 1 of the current school year.
Read More »


Mississippi Home School Laws

Requirements for legally homeschooling in Mississippi. To register your child for home school, please contact the school attendance officer in your county for a certificate of enrollment. You will be required to fill out a certificate of enrollment and provide a simple description of the curriculum that you have chosen.
Read More »


Missouri Home School Laws

Missouri homeschooling laws and requirements Missouri homeschooling laws and requirements to homeschool in Missouri. Missouri homeschooling laws. Ways to homeschool legally within Missouri. This is not intended to be legal advice and is distributed for information purposes only. Check for updates on the DOE website. Home schooling is one of the options available for...
Read More »


Montana Home School Laws

Montana homeschooling laws and requirements Montana homeschooling laws and requirements to homeschool in Montana. Montana homeschooling laws. Ways to homeschool legally within Montana. Compulsory attendance – Between 7 and 16 years of age. *This is not intended to be legal advice and is distributed for information purposes only. Check for updates the Montana DOE...
Read More »


Nebraska Homeschooling Laws

Nebraska homeschooling laws and requirements Nebraska homeschooling laws and requirements to homeschool in Nebraska. Nebraska homeschooling laws. Ways to homeschool legally within Nebraska. Compulsory attendance: From 6 to 16 years of age. Section 79-201 For purposes of this section, a child is of mandatory attendance age if the child (a) will reach six years...
Read More »


Nevada Home School Laws

Nevada Education Code For Homeschooling Compulsory attendance – 7 by September 30, or 17 before that date. NRS 392.040 Attendance required for child between 7 and 17 years of age; minimum age required for kindergarten and first grade; waiver from attendance available for child 6 years of age; developmental screening test required of certain...
Read More »


New Hampshire Home School Laws

New Hampshire Homeschooling Laws and requirements Requirements to homeschool in New Hampshire. New Hampshire homeschooling laws. Ways to homeschool legally within New Hampshire homeschooling laws. The New Hampshire Education Code revised on July 1, 2009. Check the “Notifications” section for changes. This is not intended to be legal advice and is distributed for information...
Read More »


New Jersey Home School Laws

NJ Education Code has a Compulsory Education Component, but homeschool families in New Jersey legally homeschool because of 2 court decisions.
Read More »


New Mexico Home School Laws

Compulsory attendance - under 17 years of age. Parental Qualifications - High School Diploma or equivalent. Testing - Annual Achievement Testing NO LONGER required as of July 1, 2001. Record Keeping - Maintain records of disease immunization. These NO LONGER need to be furnished to district personnel, just kept at home. You NO LONGER...
Read More »


New York Home School Laws

New York homeschooling laws and requirements New York homeschooling laws and requirements to homeschool in New York. New York homeschooling laws. Ways to homeschool legally within New York. This is not intended to be legal advice for homeschooling in NY, but is distributed for information purposes only. Check for updates to the New York Homeschool...
Read More »