Alaska homeschooling laws and requirements
Alaska homeschooling laws and requirements to homeschool in Alaska. Alaska homeschooling laws. Ways to homeschool legally within Alaska.
This is not intended to be legal advice and is distributed for information purposes only. Check for updates at your public library or under the Title 14 Education Statues.
Compulsory attendance – Between 7 and 16 following the beginning of the school year.
SB 134 passed unanimously both Houses of the Alaska Legislature in April, 1997 and became law on September 2, 1997. SB 134 adds an exemption to the Compulsory Education Law in statute allowing children to be homeschooled by a parent or guardian. No strings attached. See (12) below.
BASIS Text for CSSB 134(HES)
SB 134 SO134B
SB134 does not eliminate the possibility for families to participate in state or district sponsored correspondence programs or becoming private schools. It simply codifies current practice for many homeschoolers throughout the state – who were not within the law previously. Also, it allows homeschoolers who were previously involved with government programs or registered as private schools to simplify their structure – if they desire to do so.
Chapter 14.30. PUPILS AND EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS FOR PUPILS
Sec. 14.30.010. When attendance compulsory.
(a) Every child between seven and 16 years of age shall attend school at the public school in the district in which the child resides during each school term. Every parent, guardian or other person having the responsibility for or control of a child between seven and 16 years of age shall maintain the child in attendance at a public school in the district in which the child resides during the entire school term, except as provided in (b) of this section.
(b) This section does not apply if a child
(1) is provided an academic education comparable to that offered by the public schools in the area, either by
(A) attendance at a private school in which the teachers are certificated according to AS 14.20.020 ;
(B) tutoring by personnel certificated according to AS 14.20.020 ; or
(C) attendance at an educational program operated in compliance with AS 14.45.100 – 14.45.200 by a religious or other private school;
(2) attends a school operated by the federal government;
(3) has a physical or mental condition that a competent medical authority determines will make attendance impractical;
(4) is in the custody of a court or law enforcement authorities;
(5) is temporarily ill or injured;
(7) resides more than two miles from either a public school or a route on which transportation is provided by the school authorities, except that this paragraph does not apply if the child resides within two miles of a federal or private school that the child is eligible and able to attend;
(8) is excused by action of the school board of the district at a regular meeting or by the district superintendent subject to approval by the school board of the district at the next regular meeting;
(9) has completed the 12th grade;
Best Selling Homeschool Books Q2 2017
(10) is enrolled in
(A) a state boarding school established under AS 14.16; or
(B) a full-time program of correspondence study approved by the department; in those school districts providing an approved correspondence study program, a student may be enrolled either in the district correspondence program or in the centralized correspondence study program;
(11) is equally well-served by an educational experience approved by the school board as serving the child’s educational interests despite an absence from school, and the request for excuse is made in writing by the child’s parents or guardian and approved by the principal or administrator of the school that the child attends;
Best Selling Homeschool Books Q2 2017
(12) is being educated in the child’s home by a parent or legal guardian.
(c) If a parent, legal guardian, or other person having the responsibility for or control of the child elects to enroll a child who is six years of age in first grade at a public school, after enrollment, the child is subject to the provisions of (a) and (b) of this section. If the parent or guardian of a child who is six years of age and is enrolled in first grade at a public school determines, within 60 days after the child is enrolled, that the best interests of the child are not being served by enrollment in the first grade, the child may be withdrawn from school, and the provisions of (a) and (b) of this section do not apply to the child until the child is seven years of age.