Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing Home School
Homeschool Law for the state of Arkansas – AR
This is not intended to be legal advice about homeschooling or home education and is distributed for information purposes only. Check for updates at your public library or on the Arkansas Department of Education homeschool section of their website.
Compulsory attendance – Children between 5 and 17 years of age on or before August 1 of that school year. If your child is 5 years old on or before August 1st of the listing school year, you must either register them as a kindergartner OR fill out a kindergarten waiver form. If you do the latter, you may wait until the next year to register them as a kindergartner, and from then on they will be an older child than what is typical for each grade they’re in….OR you can register them as a first grader (thereby skipping kindergarten). Completion of kindergarten is not a requirement under Arkansas law.