Georgia Education Code For Homeschooling
Requirements to homeschool in Georgia. Georgia homeschooling laws. Ways to homeschool legally within Georgia homeschooling laws.
This is not intended to be legal advice and is distributed for information purposes only. Check for updates at the Georgia Department of Education website for Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment for Home Schools.
Compulsory attendance in Georgia – Between 6 and 16 years of age.
Georgia Education Code: Sections Relevant to Homeschoolers
Requirements for Home Study Programs (O.C.G.A. 20-2-690.) Effective July 1, 2013, Georgia law indicates you are no longer required to submit an attendance form to the Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE). Declarations of Intent (DOI) must still be submitted to the GaDOE each year.
Every parent, guardian, or other person residing within this state having control or charge of any child or children between their sixth and sixteenth birthdays shall enroll and send such child or children to a public school, a private school, or a home study program.
Home Study Programs
Parents or guardians may teach their children at home in a home study program which meets the following requirements:
1. The parent, parents, or guardian must submit within 30 days after the establishment of a home study program and by September 1 annually thereafter a declaration of intent to utilize a home study program to the Department of Education.
2. The declaration shall include a list of the names and ages of the students who are enrolled in the home study program, the address where the home study program is located, and a statement of the 12 month period that is to be considered the school year for that home study program. Enrollment records and reports shall not be used for any purpose except providing necessary enrollment information, except with the permission of the parent or guardian of a child, pursuant to the subpoena of a court of competent jurisdiction, or for verification of attendance by the Department of Public Safety for the purposes set forth in subsection (a.1) of Code Section 40-5-22;
3. Parents or guardians may teach only their own children in the home study program, provided the teaching parent or guardian possesses at least a high school diploma or a general educational development diploma, but the parents or guardians may employ a tutor who holds a high school diploma or a general educational development diploma to teach such children;
5. The home study program must provide instruction each 12 months to home study student equivalent to 180 school days of education with each school day consisting of at least four and one-half school hours unless the child is physically unable to comply with the rule provided for in this paragraph;
6.As of July 1, 2013, you are no longer required to submit attendance to the Georgia Department of Education. For driving permits or licenses all that is needed is the Declaration of Intent with a 36 character parent signature. This document replaces the Certificate of Attendance and should be submitted with all other Driver Service’s required documents to obtain a driving permit or license.
7. Students in home study programs shall be subject to an appropriate nationally standardized testing program administered in consultation with a person trained in the administration and interpretation of norm reference tests to evaluate their educational progress at least every three years beginning at the end of the third grade and records of such tests and scores shall be retained but shall not be required to be submitted to public educational authorities; and
8. The instructor shall write an annual progress assessment report in each required subject area for each student. These reports shall be retained for at least three years.
For additional information contact the local school superintendent, visiting teacher, attendance officer, or another designee. If further information is needed, contact the Georgia Department of Education at (404) 657-0183 or (800) 311-3627.